top of page

Anxious for What?

Gracious Heavenly Father,

Thank you so much for being patient with me and not giving up. Lord I know that more times than one I become anxious for things without waiting on your timing. I have found myself in predicaments that could have been avoided, relationships that could have been restored , and pain i'd never had to feel. You have blessed me with so many things and today I asked that You bless me with the gift of patience.

In Jesus name,

Amen

 

Focus Question: Has there ever been a time in your life where you made a decision off of excitement, peer pressure or anxiety? How was that experience? Did you learn that if you would have taking your time with making that choice the results would have been different?

 

So many times we make decisions based off impulse. Let me be the first to admit I have little to no patience. I get overly excited about an idea and I want it to happen at that moment. More than likely I end up being disappointed, heartbroken and no longer engaged in the idea. This can be as simple as a hair style or more extreme as far as a marriage. It’s almost like you see something you have got to have, you get it, and find out you absolutely hate it and there is no return policy. Why does this happen? Is it personality trait? Can it be fixed?

Riding in the car the other day those were questions I asked myself. I really had to focus on times in my life where I jumped in feet first, eyes and ears closed. Feet first because I saw what I wanted and I took off running. Eyes closed because I chose to ignore the red flags. Ears closed because I refused to listen God telling me no or to wait. I wrote down the outcomes both good and bad. A lot of the outcomes were not positive. Many can make decisions quickly and eagerly and it’s the best choice in the world but not me. I realized that I was trying to do things alone when I should have been seeking God’s help. God and I can have the same plan but a different route. When He is trying to take me on bumpy back roads, I hop on a Delta flight and want to be at the destination within a few hours. I skipped all the lessons that I would have learned if I just stopped to think and develop a plan while trusting God.

I’m learning that rather than having a “fast food nation” mentality its best take my time and pray. I use to say if it comes easy it won’t stay and if it’s hard to get your will appreciate a lot longer as well as value it more. So on this new journey in life I am going to take my time and not be anxious for anything. In my last blog I talked about how God has already equipped me with my purpose and I have total faith in his timing. Know when you see MY dream come true there was time, hard work, PATIENCE, but most importantly God in the midst. 

 

"Patience is the calm acceptance that things can happen in a different order than the one you have in your mind."

                                         -unknown

 


bottom of page